All Saints Catholic Primary School

Year 6 SATs


Dear Parents/Guardians

Below is a recap on the SATs information shared at last Thursday’s meeting:

‘Old’ national curriculum levels (e.g. Level 3, 4, 5) have now been abolished, as set out in the government guidelines. Since 2016, test scores have been reported as ‘scaled scores’. Your child will still be taught with the highest expectations and cover all required elements of the curriculum, similar to previous years. The new curriculum is more rigorous and sets noticeably higher expectations, which all schools have had to work hard to meet and adapt to since its introduction.

What is meant by ‘scaled scores’?

It is planned that 100 will always represent the ‘national standard’. Each pupil’s raw test score will therefore be converted into a score on the scale, either at, above or below 100.  The scale will have a lower end point somewhere below 100 and an upper end point above 100.  A child who achieves the ‘national standard’ (a score of 100) will be judged to have demonstrated sufficient knowledge in the areas assessed by the tests.

Since July 2016 for the first publication of test results, each pupil now receives:

  • A raw score (number of raw marks awarded).
  • A scaled score in each tested subject.
  • Confirmation of whether or not they attained the national standard.

On publication of the test results in July, a child awarded a scaled score of 100 is judged to have met the ‘national standard’ in the area judged by the test.  A child awarded a scaled score of more than 100 is judged to have exceeded the national standard and demonstrated a higher than expected knowledge of the curriculum for their age.  A child awarded a scaled score of less than 100 is judged to have not yet met the national standard and performed below expectation for their age.

Higher attaining pupils:

Previous Key Stage 2 tests were aimed at children achieving Levels 3-5 (with a national expectation to reach at least Level 4) In the past, additional Level 6 tests were produced for children who demonstrated higher than expected attainment, above Level 5.

Under the new system, there are not any separate tests for the most able children. Instead, each test will have scope for higher attaining pupils to show their strengths.  This means that some questions towards the end of the tests may be more difficult for many children but they should be encouraged to attempt as much of the test as they are able to.

Key Stage 2 SATs take place nationally in the week commencing 8th May 2017. Statutory tests will be administered in the following subjects:

  • Reading (60 minutes)
  • Spelling (approximately 15 minutes)
  • Punctuation, Vocabulary and Grammar (45 minutes)
  • Mathematics

– Paper 1: Arithmetic (30 minutes)

– Paper 2: Reasoning (40 minutes)

– Paper 3: Reasoning (40 minutes)

There are no tests to be administered in Science this year and all tests are externally marked. Writing will be ‘Teacher Assessed’ internally, as in recent years.

If you require any further information or have any questions about the information contained in this letter, please don’t hesitate to contact myself or Mr Macleod.


Kind regards

Miss Williams and Mr Macleod